RSS

The Roots of My Heart

11 Sep

I wrote this poem a couple years ago (April 2009).  It inspired the name for this blog.

The Roots of My Heart

There are roots growing from my feet
to the land that I am on

Roots growing from my legs
to the places I have gone

Roots that grow out of my head
to a million memories

Roots spread from my shoulders
to friends over every sea

Roots that stretch out from my eyes
to the many sights I’ve seen

Roots that grow out of my back
to find what might have been

Roots that reach out from my hands
to hold dreams, hands, and fears

Roots that grow from fingertips
to catch so many tears

But of all the roots embedded
from now back to my start

Africa holds my precious roots
the deep roots of my heart.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “The Roots of My Heart

  1. Nancy Albritton

    September 11, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    This was truly beautiful; it touched my heart!! Keep writing my precious niece; the gift God has given you is magnificent to paint a picture with your words. If I was to be blinded tomorrow my heart has a picture of your beautiful words today.

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 11, 2011 at 7:00 pm

      Thank you, Aunt. It feels so great to have someone believe in me, even if she is my aunt.

       
  2. Jenny Lenarz

    September 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this! You know what the best part of it was for me? I can actually hear your precious voice read this to me. Oh how I miss your voice! 🙂

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 12, 2011 at 8:05 am

      Thanks, my friend! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE you! You can read every night and pretend I’m reading you a bedtime story. 😉

       
  3. Didi

    September 13, 2011 at 7:45 am

    This is great Carrie, brings back lots of memories of my own African upbringing !keep it up xx Didi

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 13, 2011 at 8:19 am

      Didi, I love reading about and looking at the pictures of your current life! You are fascinating!

       

Leave a Reply

 
