RSS

Rest Areas

07 Sep

Rest Areas are quite convenient.  I hear a lot of complaints about Rest Areas and the fact that they are not always terribly clean or pleasant.  I would just like to point out, however, that they have a minor convenience we call a toilet.

I think I might have mentioned that our drive home was quite long.  There was one small town called Narok between Nairobi and home where we would stop, pick up mail, chat with the missionary family living there, and use their clean toilet.  After that, there were six more hours between Narok and home.

A “Rest Area” was any clump of bushes thick enough to kind of camouflage a white hiney as we went about our business.  We generally designated a boys’ side of the road and a girls’ side.  The girls’ side being the more wooded of the two.

When the wide open plains were the only option, the car itself served as the barrier between the two genders.

Rest Areas in the States are definitely something for which I am thankful.

p.s. I love this car.  If I could find a fuel efficient version, I would drive one of these instead of the old mini van.  Especially if I could get it in red!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Rest Areas

  1. Esther Hathaway

    September 7, 2011 at 10:11 am

    I love those old cars as well, especially the old safari land rovers. My dream car! I always remember Mtito Ndei on the way to Mombasa being one of the “nicer” pit stops. Oh, and nothing like a pit stop on the side of the road and looking over to see zebras or gazelles! A rather nice pit stop if you look at it that way!

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 7, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Mtito Ndei was a pretty nice stop. And I would take a roadside pit stop any day if the other option was Voi. Although, Voi had Red Devil popsicles, so you have to weigh the pros and cons.

       
  2. Jill Coumoutso-Hoppert

    September 7, 2011 at 10:23 am

    In my line of work..we usually prefer going in “the bush” (have seen some really nasty porta-potties and toilets)..although we usually don’t have a choice anyway.

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 7, 2011 at 10:28 am

      I can certainly understand the desire to avoid a porta-potty. Ick!

       
  3. The McKinnon Crew

    September 11, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    That is a darling picture…loving your blog! Thanks for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
