RSS

Beginnings

02 Sep

Laying out the first words on a brand new blog feels like a lot of pressure.  I’ve often said that I have no idea where to begin when it comes to telling about my childhood in Africa.  I suppose an introduction and the very beginning of my life is as good a place as any.

My name is Carrie.  I was born in Nazareth, Ethiopia in 1977. It was a time of extreme political unrest.  A new Marxist government had just taken power, expelling American military missions, and torturing and executing any person who was viewed as potential opposition.

To make a long and traumatic story rather short, my parents, along with all U.S. citizens, were evacuated on very short order when I was six months old.  After a brief 6-month period of regrouping, we travelled to Kenya where my childhood, as I remember it, began.

I invite you to join me as I embark on this safari through my past.  We’ll wade together through the experiences that have shaped me and that laid the foundation for me to grow into the woman I have become.

It’s all a bit vulnerable.  I ask that you kindly tread lightly as I spread before you the roots of my heart.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

19 responses to “Beginnings

  1. Erin

    September 2, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Yay! I love it and I can’t wait to read more. Love you, friend!

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 2, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      My first commenter! Thanks for cheering me on! You’re a star and I love you too!

       
  2. Allison Powell

    September 2, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Yeah! I’m looking forward to reading all about it! 🙂 I love the way you write and all the stories I have heard. Can’t wait!!

     
  3. Bill

    September 2, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Can’t wait to read all these, babe.

     
  4. The McKinnon Crew

    September 2, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Looking forward to reading, Carrie!

     
  5. Stephanie Smith Vandegrift

    September 2, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Can’t wait to hear all about your exciting adventures!!!!

     
  6. sianaphotography

    September 2, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I agree, love your writing and can’t wait to read about your life! 🙂

     
  7. Michelle Taylor

    September 3, 2011 at 6:40 am

    Carrie, how bizarre! We were kicked out under the same conditions from Addis that very same year (having been kicked out of Somalia the year previous)…..So instead of going to Bingham, I went to Rosslyn academy. Wow! look forward to reading more.

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 3, 2011 at 9:59 am

      Michelle, that is bizarre! I’m glad you’ve found me! I went to RVA from 1987-1995. I have a lot of friends who went to Rosslyn!

       
  8. Heather Armstrong

    September 3, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Oh, goody! Strum those heartstrings using the pick of words.

     
  9. Ember Williams

    September 3, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Beautiful writing. I already have goosebumps and can’t wait to read more. You’re a beautiful person with a beautiful story.

     
  10. carrielassiter

    September 3, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Thanks, everyone! I’m pretty excited about this. If you want a story behind any of the pictures on Facebook, let me know and I’ll gladly oblige. Otherwise, you’re stuck reading about the photos I choose.

     
  11. Valerie, Nanny, Lynn (take your pick)

    September 3, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Fabulous, my beautiful daughter-i-l. Can’t wait for more. You are finding another way to draw us all in to your beautiful story, writing and self. My son is a LUCKY guy!!! Not to mention my grandsons!!! Love you, darling.

     
  12. Diane Davis

    September 4, 2011 at 11:30 am

    so thrilled that you are documenting your story. count me in on the fan club! excited to read more!!!

     
  13. Esther Hathaway

    September 5, 2011 at 7:31 am

    Carrie, I’m excited to read more! I think all of us as MK’s just like being able to relate to someone/thing and experiences. I look forward reading! 🙂

     
  14. Alissa

    September 5, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Carrie! I’m so excited to hear these stories from your childhood! Oh, life as a child in Africa! Gavin got his first good “being raised in Madagascar” story today… he got bit by a lemur! Aaghh! 3 stitches later and he’s good to go! 🙂

     
    • carrielassiter

      September 7, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Thank you, Alissa! Your kids are going to have some great stories! Hope Gavin is OK.

       
  15. Nancy

    September 15, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Oh, Carrie, this is WONDERFUL!!! Thank you SOOOOO much for sharing!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
